Signup Ahead

How It Works

There are three simple steps for using Signup Ahead for your event:

  1. Create your signup sheet and slots
  2. Manage your signup sheet
  3. Ask your volunteers to sign up


When you create a sheet, you will be asked to provide an email address, a sheet name, an optional description, and the number of slots to create. You can also specify when signups should close, and if you prefer to hide volunteer names on the signup sheet.

When you click the “Create” button, your sheet will be saved and an email will be sent to the address you provided with a link to manage your new signup sheet.

Save this email! You will need it to edit or close your sheet, and to add or remove slots. When you receive the email, click on the link provided to manage your signup sheet. If you do not receive this email, check your SPAM folder.


Once you have created your sheet, you can send the signup link to your volunteers.

Use the manage page to edit the sheet. You can set a time limit for your sheet, or manually close it any time by clicking the “Close Sheet” button.

You can also use the manage page to add, edit, or remove slots. Click on the pencil icon to change slot information, including the slot time and the volunteer who has taken the slot. Use the checkboxes to remove slots with the “Remove Slots” button, or clear the volunteers by clicking the “Clear Volunteers” button.


Share the signup link with your volunteers. This link will take them to the signup page, where they can sign up for slots.

A volunteer signs up for a slot by entering a name and email address, clicking on the checkbox next to a slot, and clicking the “Sign Up” button. A volunteer can sign up only for available slots. If a slot is taken, it will show the name of the volunteer, or “(hidden)” if you chose to hide volunteer names.

Only the sheet owner can change a slot once a volunteer has signed up.

That’s all there is to it! Click [HERE] to create your signup sheet.